top of page

Body Dysmorphic Disorder

1. What is body dysmorphic disorder?


A person with Body Dysmorphic Disorder can’t stop thinking about what they see as defects or flaws in their physical appearance (usually in their skin, hair, or nose, but could be any body part). The “flaw” appears minor or can’t be seen by others. The person will also do repetitive behaviors in response to those thoughts like checking the mirror, picking at their skin, or grooming, often for many hours a day. The person might seek out different cosmetic procedures to try to “fix” the “flaw”, but the relief is often temporary and their anxiety will resume again. Both the obsessive thoughts about their body part and the repetitions are upsetting and unwanted by the person experiencing the disorder. It is closely related to Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder.


2. Do genetics impact body image/ susceptibility to body dysmorphic disorder?

For Body Dysmorphic Disorder, the DSM-V (the manual used by mental health professionals to diagnose mental disorders) states that people who are first-degree relatives of individuals with Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder have a higher prevalence of Body Dysmorphic Disorder. With body image in general, a couple of studies have shown a link between genetics and body image. A Michigan study from 2012 showed that genetics influence a person having a “thin-ideal” (the acceptance of beauty standards of thinness). An older study performed in Australia in 2003 also demonstrated the influence of genetics on body attitudes.


3. What are some real life techniques to combat teenage body dysmorphia? I always am in a struggle between trying to love my body and hating it.

If you think you are struggling with Body Dysmorphic Disorder, I would suggest talking to a mental health professional to help you work through it. Treatments for Body Dysmorphic Disorder often include cognitive behavioral therapy and medication. For other body image issues, I understand how hard it can be to struggle with accepting your body. Society pushes such a narrow idea of beauty on us that it can be hard to break away from that. Know that your body is perfect and beautiful exactly as it is. I try to practice radical self-acceptance every day. Here are some concrete ideas:

  • When I notice negative thoughts about my body, I don’t automatically believe them or act on them. I notice them and choose for myself what actions I want to take towards health and wellness.

  • It might be helpful to get descriptive with the parts you like and don’t like about your body, instead of trying to love your whole body or saying you don’t like your whole body. For example, I love my eyes for their color and my hands for how they allow me to play music. I don’t like my facial hair. Sometimes I don’t like how red my face can get – it gives away my emotions!

  • With this, maybe the first step can be accepting the parts of our bodies that we don’t like, instead of trying to love them. I’m not sure if I will ever LOVE my facial hair, but I accept that it’s there.

  • Be aware of the media you consume. What kinds of accounts do you follow on social media? What do the actors look like in the TV shows you watch? What body images are you consuming consciously and subconsciously?

  • I like to remember something a mentor once told me: “Bodies don’t count, essence does!”

If you are really struggling, reach out for some help! Working with a therapist can be a way to help yourself heal.



bottom of page